Riley Blake’s Knit LOVE Blog Tour

????????

Wow!!  How excited are we about the invitation to participate in Riley Blake’s Knit Love Blog Tour?  FooFoo Threads is continually growing, and we are so excited about the chance to team up with such an amazing fabric company.  I mean seriously, how many of their fabrics do you have hiding in your stash?  I know I have several, BUT this was my first time working with their knits.  I was not disappointed!  They are medium weight, super soft, and very forgiving in the stretch factor. Perfect for many FooFoo Threads projects.

????????

As soon as the invite was extended, I went to digging around in their knits section on their website.  So many gorgeous prints to choose from, but here at FooFoo Threads we hold a special place in our hearts for floral prints.  So, it was only natural that I was drawn to the Cottage Garden collection.  I chose the Cottage Main print in the teal color way.  Pictures can not even express how gorgeous this knit is in person!  I then was on the hunt for a fun coordinate. The coordinates in the Cottage Garden line are beautiful, but a bit too modern for my taste.  I stumbled upon this dreamy houndstooth and without hesitation I knew it was perfect! I mean, I do live in the south…what southerner doesn’t love houndstooth?

????????

I will be the first to tell you that FooFoo Thread’s patterns are perfect for teaching you to sew with knits.  I know this because it was Jocelyn’s patterns that taught ME to sew with the “dreaded” knits.  I avoided them like the plague for years, and after sewing my first Four Season’s Dress I was left asking myself why I hadn’t tried sewing with knits sooner.  If you are scared or nervous DO NOT be!  The two patterns I used here are the Cricket Top and Strawberry Fields.  You can not go wrong with either of these, and they will give you a great start to sewing with your first knits.

cricket collage

My little is a complete tomboy!  She adores clothes that are comfy and allow her room to run and play.  In fact, I will now need a new pair of pink Converse tennis shoes to complete this outfit.  It was a no brainer for me to make her a pair of Strawberry Fields in the shorts length.  There are several options for these. You can have one, two or three layers of ruffles. Ruffles can be regular or extra full.  You then can choose from shorts or capris, but Jocelyn didn’t stop there, she includes a tutorial for creating the pants length as well.

Now, let’s talk Cricket….the ruched sides, the ruffle, and the bib.  What’s not to love?  Seriously, it is the details of this simple top that make it so charming.  Again, the options are endless on this one as well.  It will be worn a lot this summer I can assure you!

???????? ????????

I’d say that FooFoo Threads patterns and Riley Blake knits are a perfect pair!

Remember we always have a buy two get one free in our shop! That means if you grab the Cricket top and Strawberry Fields today, you can pick another pattern free!

Keeping it FooFoo,

Amber

Be sure to stop by the Knit LOVE Blog Tour and check out the other amazing participants!

Knit Love

Leave a Reply

